Chateau – Vysočina Museum in Pelhřimov

The chateau was built by Adam Říčanský of Ríčany around 1550 and shortly thereafter, it passed down to the town of Pelhřimov.

Contact

Muzeum Vysočiny Pelhřimov, p.o.
Masarykovo náměstí 12
39301 Pelhřimov
region Pelhřimov
49.430737, 15.221803Map
Period: summer, winter

After a fire in 1682, a municipal jail was added to the chateau. Another fire in 1766 destroyed a large portion of the chateau; thanks to later repairs, the chateau was rebuilt into its current appearance. Councillors would meet here until 1849, when an Imperial-Royal (c.k.) district court moved to the chateau. Since 1908, it has housed a museum. Today’s exhibitions guide visitors to the history of the Pelhřimov region and show them famous locals who were born here, including sculptors Josef and Zdeněk Šejnost. Popular parts of the museums are the fresco hall and the former dining hall of the Lords of Říčany, which later served as a council hall and a courtroom. The ceilings and walls are covered in frescoes showing biblical scenes and theological and secular virtues. Visitors can also visit a former municipal jail furnished with exact and true copies of torture instruments.

 

Foto: OKPPCR Kraje Vysočina

Videogallery