Kámen Castle

This originally Gothic castle from the 13th century was named after a large rock (in Czech kámen) that overlooks the surrounding area.

Contact

49.424374, 15.013847Map
Period: summer

For almost two hundred years, it was a royal feud castle and then for another two hundred years, it was occupied by one of the branches of the Bohemian Malovec family. In 1974, the castle opened to the public as a museum of single track vehicles produced in Czechoslovakia. The focus of the exhibition was partially related to an important event in the history of motorsports, the establishment of the International Motorcycling Federation. That took place in Paris in December 1904, but the idea for founding the Federation was conceived in Pacov, Czech Republic, in July. The route of the Pacov Motorcycle Circuit, which took place in 1905 and 1906, ran next to the castle. New exhibits are continuously being added and the last one is a unique specimen among motorcycles, a Böhmerland-Čechie 600 from 1928 In addition to motorcycles, the castle also offers a guided tour dedicated to types of housing from the 19th and the early 20th centuries and a visit to a nearby chapel, the former tomb of the Malovec family.

 

Foto: archiv Vysočina Tourism, P. Janoušek, Vladimír Kunc, Daniel Balogh